The Manage Alerts user page shows a list of all the alerts that you own or follow, or for which you are listed as a recipient, depending on your alerts permissions:
|Permissions||Alerts Displayed on the Manage Alerts User Page|
||Users can see the alerts that they have created or followed, or for which they are listed as a recipient.|
||Users can see the alerts they have created.|
||Users can see the alerts that they have followed or for which they are listed as a recipient.|
Accessing the Manage Alerts Page
If your Looker admin has not given you alerts permissions, you will not be able to access this page from the user menu.
To reach the Manage Alerts user page, click your user profile picture or icon and choose Alerts:
The Manage Alerts user page provides information about all the alerts that you have created (and not deleted), that you have chosen to follow, or for which you are listed as a recipient:
The columns in the Manage Alerts user page table show these settings:
|Alert Name||The title of the alert, which is set when creating or editing the alert. The default alert title indicates which conditions need to be true for the alert to be triggered.|
|Dashboard||The name of and link to the dashboard containing the tile with the alert. Click the link to navigate to the dashboard.|
|Owner||The name of the user who created the alert.|
|Last Ran At||The date and time at which the most recent alert query was run. If the alert query has not yet run, there will be no entry for this alert.|
|Condition Met||A Yes or No that indicates whether or not the alert conditions were met when the alert query was last run. If the alert query has not yet run, there will be no entry for this alert.|
|Schedule||The frequency at which notifications are sent once the alert conditions have been met or exceeded.|
|Status||This column indicates whether the alert is currently active or disabled.
|Following||A button that indicates your following status for the alert. See more about following below.|
Alert Management Options
Next to the alerts you own is a three-dot menu with the following options:
- Edit Alert
- Disable Alert (if the alert is currently enabled)
- Enable Alert (if the alert is currently disabled)
Click Edit Alert to open the alert pop-up where you can modify the alert’s settings. Click Save Alert or Cancel to close the alert pop-up.
If a user deletes the dashboard or dashboard tile that the alert is on, that alert will be disabled and any followers or recipients will no longer receive notifications when the alert conditions are met.
On this page, the alert owner will see immediately that the name of the dashboard has been deleted for the alert. After the next time the alert query runs, the alert status will show as Disabled.
The Following column shows clickable Unfollow and Follow buttons and unclickable Follow buttons.
You will see an Unfollow button next to the alert if you are following the alert. If you click Unfollow, you will stop receiving notifications when this alert is triggered. After you click Unfollow:
- If you own the alert, you will see a Follow button in this column.
- If you do not own the alert, this alert will be removed from this page once you refresh your browser.
- If you were listed as a recipient for an alert’s notifications but did not follow the alert from the alert view pop-up, you will see an unclickable Follow button. To unfollow the alert, you must unsubscribe directly from your alert notification.
You will see an unclickable Follow button next to the alert if:
- You own the alert but it is unfollowable.
- You were listed as an email recipient for the alert notifications but did not follow the alert from the alert view pop-up. To unfollow the alert, you must unsubscribe directly from your alert notification.
- The alert is configured to send notifications to Slack.
The alert owner may see that the alert status shows as Active on the Manage Alerts user page until the next time the alert query is run.