If you have the appropriate user permissions, you can modify alerts on query-based or Look-linked tiles on user-defined dashboards or LookML dashboards that use the new or legacy dashboards.
To edit, duplicate, or delete an alert, click the alert icon on the alert’s tile and then click the three-dot menu to the right of the alert listed in the alert view window. Modifying your alert settings also changes those settings for users who follow your alerts.
- To edit an alert, click Edit Alert to open a window where you can edit the existing alert settings; when you’re finished editing, click Save Alert. Only Looker admins can edit alerts that send notifications to Slack.
- To duplicate an alert, click Duplicate to open a window that is pre-populated with the existing alert settings, and then click Create Alert. Duplicating an alert creates a new alert with identical tile settings to the original alert. The duplicated alert query will check if conditions are triggered based on the dashboard and tile settings at the time the original alert was created. If any user has made changes to the dashboard or tile since the creation of the original alert, the duplicated alert will not reflect those changes.
- To delete an alert, click Delete, and then confirm in the resulting window. Click Done to close the alert view window. Only Looker admins can delete alerts that send notifications to Slack.
You cannot duplicate another user’s Slack alert delivery settings if either of these conditions is true:
- The alert sends Slack notifications to a Slack channel that is not available to you. You must configure your own Slack delivery settings.
- You do not have
Attempting to duplicate an alert in either of these cases will result in this displayed message:
Admins can edit, duplicate, delete, or pause any alert, even private alerts that were created by other users.
Deleting an alert’s dashboard or dashboard tile
If a user deletes the dashboard or dashboard tile that the alert is on, that alert will be disabled: Any followers or recipients will no longer receive notifications when the alert conditions are met.
The alert owner will see immediately that the name of the dashboard has been deleted for the alert on the Manage Alerts user page. After the next time the alert query runs, the alert status will show as Disabled.
Admins will see immediately that the name of the dashboard has been replaced with a - for the alert on the Alert History page of the Admin panel and that it has been deleted for the alert on the Alerts page of the Admin panel. After the next time the alert query runs, the alert will be removed from the Alert History page of the Admin panel. On the Alerts admin page, the status shows as Paused with a tooltip message that indicates that the dashboard or dashboard element (tile) has been deleted.