home User Guide Getting Started Help Center Documentation Community Training Certification
menu
close
settings
Looker keyboard_arrow_down
language keyboard_arrow_down
English
Français
Deutsch
日本語
search
print
Deleted and Unused Content for Admins

Only Looker admins will be able to see the options described on this page.

Looker offers admins several pages to manage unused and unwanted content in Looker. The Unused content and Trash folders are found in the All folders folder, which you can access from the Browse menu:

You should periodically go through these pages to delete content that isn’t needed.

Unused Content

The Unused Content page lists dashboards and Looks that haven’t been viewed within the past 90 days, or within a time range selected using the Time since last use drop-down menu. The list does not include public content, content that is scheduled for delivery or part of a user’s favorites, or Looks that are embedded within a dashboard.

You can select any number of dashboards and Looks, then delete them:

  1. Select the time range you’d like to review for unused content.
  2. Select the dashboards and Looks you want to delete:
    • Select all dashboards or all Looks using the Select All button or the checkbox in the upper left of the list.
    • Select individual dashboards or Looks by using the checkbox in the same row.
  3. Click the Move to Trash button to move the selected content to the trash.

Trash

The Trash page shows you any dashboards or Looks that were deleted by users. You can select any number of dashboards and Looks, then choose what to do with them. They can be deleted permanently or restored. You can also sort the thumbnails using the drop-down in the top right of each section:

  1. Select the dashboards and Looks you want to restore or permanently delete:
    • Select all dashboards or all Looks using the Select All button or the checkbox in the upper left of the list.
    • Select individual dashboards or Looks by using the checkbox in the same row.
  2. Click the Restore button to move the selected content back to folders. Or click the Delete button to permanently delete the content. Deleting content here cannot be undone.

If you restore a dashboard or a Look, it will return to the folder that it was deleted from, if that folder still exists. Otherwise, the dashboard or Look will be returned to the personal folder of the user who created it.

If content restored from trash previously existed in a deleted user’s personal folder, the content will be saved to the folder of the admin who restores the content.

Content in the Trash folder does not expire and will remain until you restore or permanently delete it.

Top