home Guide de l’utilisateur Prise en main Centre d’assistance Documentation Communauté Formation Certification
menu
close
settings
Looker keyboard_arrow_down
language keyboard_arrow_down
English
Français
Deutsch
日本語
search
print
En quoi consiste LookML ?

LookML est un langage permettant de décrire des dimensions, des agrégations, des calculs et des relations entre les données d’une base de données SQL. Looker utilise un modèle écrit en LookML pour composer des requêtes SQL portant sur une base de données particulière.

Projets LookML

Un projet LookML est un ensemble de fichiers de modèle, de vue et de tableau de bord dont les versions sont généralement contrôlées via un référentiel Git. Les fichiers de modèle contiennent des informations sur les tables à utiliser et la manière de les joindre. Les fichiers de vue contiennent des informations sur la façon de calculer des données sur chaque table (ou sur plusieurs tables si les jointures le permettent).

LookML sépare la structure du contenu, de sorte que la structure des requêtes (la manière dont les tables sont jointes) est indépendante de leur contenu (les colonnes auxquelles accéder, les champs dérivés, les fonctions d’agrégation à calculer et les expressions de filtrage à appliquer).

LookML sépare le contenu des requêtes de leur structure

Requêtes SQL générées par Looker

LookML incite les analystes à ne pas se répéter (style DRY (Don’t Repeat Yourself)) et à n’écrire les expressions SQL qu’une seule fois, dans un seul endroit, afin que Looker puisse réutiliser indéfiniment le code pour générer des requêtes SQL ad hoc à la volée. Pour les utilisateurs métier, le résultat final consiste à pouvoir créer des requêtes complexes dans Looker, en se concentrant sur le contenu dont ils ont besoin, et non sur les subtilités de la structure SQL.

Requête créée dans Looker pour joindre les valeurs de plusieurs tables (ORDERS ITEMS, ORDERS, PRODUCTS, USERS et USERS ORDER FACTS)

Dans l’illustration ci-dessus, l’utilisateur final n’a pas besoin de comprendre les expressions SQL de jointure ou de filtrage.

Un langage de dépendance pour décrire des structures de données

Par opposition aux langages impératifs tels que C ou Ruby, LookML est un langage de dépendance, au même titre que make. LookML fournit des types de données et une syntaxe prédéfinis pour la modélisation des données. La structure de la syntaxe LookML est claire et facile à apprendre. (Vous n’avez pas besoin d’expérience préalable en langues de programmation. Tout ce que vous devez savoir est expliqué ici.) LookML ne dépend d’aucun dialecte SQL spécifique et encapsule des expressions SQL pour prendre en charge n’importe quelle implémentation SQL.

Exemple de code

L’exemple ci-dessous montre un projet LookML minimal pour un site marchand, avec un fichier de modèle et deux fichiers de vue :

###################################### # FILE: ecommercestore.model.lkml # # Define the explores and join logic # ###################################### connection: order_database include: "*.view.lkml" explore: orders { join: customers { sql_on: ${orders.customer_id} = ${customers.id} ;; } }   ########################################################## # FILE: orders.view.lkml # # Define the dimensions and measures for the ORDERS view # ########################################################## view: orders { dimension: id { primary_key: yes type: number sql: ${TABLE}.id ;; } dimension: customer_id { # field: orders.customer_id sql: ${TABLE}.customer_id ;; } dimension: amount { # field: orders.amount type: number value_format: "0.00" sql: ${TABLE}.amount ;; } dimension_group: created { # generates fields: type: time # orders.created_time, orders.created_date timeframes: [time, date, week, month] # orders.created_week, orders.created_month sql: ${TABLE}.created_at ;; } measure: count { # field: orders.count type: count # creates a sql COUNT(*) drill_fields: [drill_set*] # list of fields to show when someone clicks 'ORDERS Count' } measure: total_amount { type: sum sql: ${amount} ;; } set: drill_set { fields: [id, created_time, customers.name, amount] } }   ############################################################# # FILE: customers.view.lkml # # Define the dimensions and measures for the CUSTOMERS view # ############################################################# view: customers { dimension: id { primary_key: yes type: number sql: ${TABLE}.id ;; } dimension: city { # field: customers.city sql: ${TABLE}.city ;; } dimension: state { # field: customers.state sql: ${TABLE}.state ;; } dimension: name { sql: CONCAT(${TABLE}.firstname, " ", ${TABLE}.lastname) ;; } measure: count { # field: customers.count type: count # creates a sql COUNT(*) drill_fields: [drill_set*] # fields to show when someone clicks 'CUSTOMERS Count' } set: drill_set { # set: customers.drill_set fields: [id, state, orders.count] # list of fields to show when someone clicks 'CUSTOMERS Count' } }

LookML est sensible à la casse

LookML est sensible à la casse, vérifiez donc la casse lorsque vous mentionnez des éléments LookML. Looker vous avertit si vous avez mentionné un élément qui n’existe pas. Dans l’exemple ci-dessous, le développeur a écrit « FLIGHTS » en majuscules, ce qui est incorrect. L’environnement IDE avertit que l’élément e_FLIGHTS_pdt n’existe pas. En outre, l’environnement IDE suggère le nom d’une exploration existante, e_flights_pdt :

Cependant, si votre projet contenait à la fois e_FLIGHTS_pdt et e_flights_pdt, l’environnement IDE de Looker ne pourrait pas vous corriger, vous devriez donc être certain de la version que vous souhaitiez utiliser. Nous recommandons généralement d’utiliser des minuscules pour nommer des objets LookML.

Les noms de dossiers IDE sont également sensibles à la casse. Vous devez vérifier la casse du nom des fichiers dès que vous spécifiez des chemins de fichier. Par exemple, si un dossier est nommé Views, vous devez utiliser la même casse dans le paramètre include. Une fois de plus, l’environnement IDE de Looker indique une erreur si la casse ne correspond pas au dossier existant de votre projet :

Présentation des éléments LookML fondamentaux

Le diagramme suivant illustre les éléments LookML fondamentaux et leurs relations. Pour plus de détails, voir Termes et concepts LookML.

Top

home User Guide Getting Started Help Center Documentation Community Training Certification
menu
close
settings
Looker keyboard_arrow_down
language keyboard_arrow_down
English
Français
Deutsch
日本語
search
print
What Is LookML?

LookML is a language for describing dimensions, aggregates, calculations, and data relationships in a SQL database. Looker uses a model written in LookML to construct SQL queries against a particular database.

LookML Projects

A LookML Project is a collection of model, view, and dashboard files that are typically version controlled together via a Git repository. The model files contain information about which tables to use, and how they should be joined together. The view files contain information about how to calculate information about each table (or across multiple tables if the joins permit them).

LookML separates structure from content, so the query structure (how tables are joined) is independent of the query content (the columns to access, derived fields, aggregate functions to compute, and filtering expressions to apply).

LookML separates content of queries from structure of queries

SQL Queries Generated by Looker

For data analysts, LookML fosters DRY style (“don’t repeat yourself”), meaning you write SQL expressions once, in one place, and Looker uses the code repeatedly to generate ad-hoc SQL queries on the fly. For business users, the end result is the ability to build complex queries in Looker, focusing only on the content they need, not the complexities of SQL structure.

A query built in Looker that joins values from multiple tables (ORDERS ITEMS, ORDERS, PRODUCTS, USERS, and USERS ORDER FACTS)

In the figure above, the end-user doesn’t need to understand SQL expressions for joins or filtering.

A Dependency Language for Describing Data Structures

LookML is a dependency language like make, as opposed to an imperative language like C or Ruby. LookML provides predefined data types and syntax for data modeling. LookML syntax has a structure that is clear and easy to learn. (You don’t need prior experience with programming languages, everything you need to know is documented here.) LookML is independent of particular SQL dialects, and encapsulates SQL expressions to support any SQL implementation.

Code Sample

The example below shows a minimal LookML project for an e-commerce store, which has a model file and two view files:

###################################### # FILE: ecommercestore.model.lkml # # Define the explores and join logic # ###################################### connection: order_database include: "*.view.lkml" explore: orders { join: customers { sql_on: ${orders.customer_id} = ${customers.id} ;; } }   ########################################################## # FILE: orders.view.lkml # # Define the dimensions and measures for the ORDERS view # ########################################################## view: orders { dimension: id { primary_key: yes type: number sql: ${TABLE}.id ;; } dimension: customer_id { # field: orders.customer_id sql: ${TABLE}.customer_id ;; } dimension: amount { # field: orders.amount type: number value_format: "0.00" sql: ${TABLE}.amount ;; } dimension_group: created { # generates fields: type: time # orders.created_time, orders.created_date timeframes: [time, date, week, month] # orders.created_week, orders.created_month sql: ${TABLE}.created_at ;; } measure: count { # field: orders.count type: count # creates a sql COUNT(*) drill_fields: [drill_set*] # list of fields to show when someone clicks 'ORDERS Count' } measure: total_amount { type: sum sql: ${amount} ;; } set: drill_set { fields: [id, created_time, customers.name, amount] } }   ############################################################# # FILE: customers.view.lkml # # Define the dimensions and measures for the CUSTOMERS view # ############################################################# view: customers { dimension: id { primary_key: yes type: number sql: ${TABLE}.id ;; } dimension: city { # field: customers.city sql: ${TABLE}.city ;; } dimension: state { # field: customers.state sql: ${TABLE}.state ;; } dimension: name { sql: CONCAT(${TABLE}.firstname, " ", ${TABLE}.lastname) ;; } measure: count { # field: customers.count type: count # creates a sql COUNT(*) drill_fields: [drill_set*] # fields to show when someone clicks 'CUSTOMERS Count' } set: drill_set { # set: customers.drill_set fields: [id, state, orders.count] # list of fields to show when someone clicks 'CUSTOMERS Count' } }

LookML Is Case-Sensitive

LookML is case-sensitive, so be sure to match the case when referring to LookML elements. Looker will alert you if you have referred to an element that doesn’t exist. In the example below, the developer has incorrectly capitalized “FLIGHTS.” The Looker IDE shows a warning that the e_FLIGHTS_pdt does not exist. In addition, the IDE suggests the name of an existing Explore, which is e_flights_pdt:

However, if your project contained both e_FLIGHTS_pdt and e_flights_pdt, the Looker IDE would not be able to correct you, so you would have to be sure which version you intended. Generally, it’s a good idea to stick with lowercase when naming LookML objects.

IDE folder names are also case-sensitive. You must match the capitalization of folder names whenever you specify file paths. For example, if you have a folder named Views, you must use this same capitalization in the include parameter. Again, the Looker IDE will indicate an error if your capitalization doesn’t match an existing folder in your project:

Overview of Fundamental LookML Elements

The following diagram shows fundamental LookML elements and their relationships. For more detail, see LookML Terms and Concepts.

Top