User Guide Getting Started Help Center Documentation Community Training
Looker
  
English
Français
Deutsch
日本語
Git Command Reference

This table describes all of the Git commands and shows the ways you can access each command:

Function Description How to Access
Configure Git If you have just created a project, you will need to configure Git for the project. See this page for information on connecting a Looker project to a Git repository. Button
Test Git Connection Once you have configured Git for your project, you can use the Test Git Connection option to run the Git Test Connection tool to verify that the Git connection is set up properly. See this page. Button,
Shift-click Git menu
Validate LookML If you have saved changes to your files, you may see the Validate LookML button. (Whether or not you are required to validate your LookML depends on your project’s setting for code quality.) Click the button to start LookML validation of your model. See this documentation page for more information. Button
View Uncommitted Changes If you have saved changes that you have not yet committed, you can use the View Uncommitted Changes option to see all of the changes that you have saved since your last commit. See this documentation page for more information. Regular Git menu,
Shift-click Git menu
Revert Uncommitted Changes If you have saved changes that you have not yet committed, you can use the Revert Uncommitted Changes option to discard all of the changes that have not been committed. See this documentation page for more information. Regular Git menu,
Shift-click Git menu
Revert to Production The Revert to Production option is supported only for a user’s personal branch (that is automatically created and begins with dev-). Revert to Production discards any changes in your personal branch and syncs your local files to the current production branch files. Note that this has two effects:
  1. Discards any of your committed and uncommitted changes that have not been deployed to production.
  2. Updates your personal branch with any changes that other users have made to the current production branch.
Regular Git menu,
Shift-click Git menu
Revert to Remote The Revert to Remote option discards any changes in your local branch and syncs your files to the current version of the remote branch. Note that this has two effects:
  1. Discards any of your committed and uncommitted changes that have not been committed and synced to remote.
  2. Updates your local files with any changes that other users have pushed to the branch on the remote end.
Button
Commit Changes After you have made and saved any changes to your LookML project, use the Commit Changes option to commit these changes to your local branch. See this documentation page for more information. Button,
Shift-click Git menu
Deploy to Production After you have committed changes, use the Deploy to Production option to update the production branch with the committed changes from your development branch. Button,
Shift-click Git menu
Push Changes to Remote If you have committed changes to your current branch that are not yet pushed to the remote version of the branch, you will see the Push Changes to Remote button. The Push Changes to Remote operation applies to the branch you’re currently on, pushing all committed changes from your local files and syncing them to the remote end. Button
Push Branch to Remote If you have created a branch that does not exist on the remote end, you will see the Push Branch to Remote button. The Push Branch to Remote option creates the branch on the remote end, pushing all committed changes from your local files to the remote end. Note that this does not deploy your changes to the production branch. Button
Pull Remote Changes If other people have committed and pushed changes on a branch, the remote version of the branch will be ahead of your local version of the branch. The Pull Remote Changes option applies to the branch you’re currently on, retrieving the most recent versions of any changed files on the branch from the remote end and syncing them to your local files. Button
History Click the History menu option to see a list of the commits to your development branch, which includes all of the commits that you have pulled into your development branch from the production branch (including commits from other users).

If you are using GitHub and the Git Project Settings has GitHub Integration enabled, each of the commits will include a link to the commit on GitHub so you can view the exact changes. This functionality also works with other Git providers if your Git Project Settings has that Git provider’s equivalent to GitHub Integration enabled. To open the links, you will need an account on your Git provider.
Regular Git menu,
Shift-click Git menu
Project Settings Opens the Project Settings window, where you can reset the Git provider connection and configure such settings as the project name, LookML validation requirements, and integration with the Git provider. Regular Git menu,
Shift-click Git menu
Pull from Production The Pull from Production option will pull the current state of the remote production branch and merge it into your local developer branch, and then push the current local developer branch to the remote developer branch. Button,
Regular Git menu,
Shift-click Git menu
Pull & Merge Other Changes The Pull & Merge Other Changes button has the same function as Pull from Production, but the Pull & Merge Other Changes button is seen in different circumstances: When you have committed changes on your branch but have not deployed them, and there are also remote, undeployed, committed changes on the branch. In this case you need to pull the changes from the remote and merge them into your branch. Button
Don’t Resolve The Don’t Resolve button is displayed when you have a merge conflict, which usually occurs when another developer has made changes since you last pulled and you made changes in the same area. In general, you should resolve merge conflicts, as described on this documentation page. But you can also click the Don’t Resolve button to continue developing without resolving the merge conflict. Button
Commit & Resolve Conflict The Commit & Resolve Conflict button is displayed when you make changes after a merge conflict. Click Commit & Resolve Conflict to commit your changes and clear the merge conflict. Button
Git Branching Functions
(see this documentation page for information on working with Git branches)
New Branch Opens the New Branch dialog, where you can create a new development branch off the current branch. See this documentation page for more information. Regular Git menu,
Shift-click Git menu
Switch Branches Opens the Switch Branch dialog, where you can select a different development branch to work on. See this documentation page for more information. Regular Git menu,
Shift-click Git menu
Manage Branches Opens the Branch Management tab of the Project Settings page, where you can see all the Git branches for your Looker project. You can also delete a branch, unless the branch is the production branch, the master branch, the branch you’re currently on, or a Looker developer’s personal branch. Regular Git menu,
Shift-click Git menu
For Projects Where Pull Requests are Recommended or Required
Open Pull Request The Open Pull Request option will open a new browser window to your Git provider’s new pull request page. From there you can create a pull request for your developer branch.
NOTE: Until the pull request is approved and/or closed, all future commits on the branch will be included in the same pull request.
Button
Open Pull Request on GitHub The Open Pull Request on GitHub option will open a new browser window to your Git provider’s new pull request page. From there you can create a pull request for your developer branch.
NOTE: Until the pull request is approved and/or closed, all future commits on the branch will be included in the same pull request.
Shift-click Git menu
Open Project on GitHub The Open Project on GitHub option opens a browser window to the GitHub project files. Shift-click Git menu
For Advanced Git Users
Pull Remote Changes If other people have committed and pushed changes on a branch, the remote version of the branch will be ahead of your local version of the branch. The Pull Remote Changes option applies to the branch you’re currently on, retrieving the most recent versions of any changed files on the branch from the remote end and syncing them to your local files. Shift-click Git menu
Push Changes to Remote If you have committed changes to your current branch that are not yet pushed to the remote version of the branch, the local version of the branch will be ahead of the remote version of the branch. The Push Changes to Remote option applies to the branch you’re currently on, pushing all committed changes from your local files and syncing them to the remote end. Shift-click Git menu
Top