Dashboards (beta) are a new version of Looker dashboards that have a fresh, modern look and feel; customizable, user-friendly filters; a new dashboard creation experience and editing flow; and improved performance.
If your admin has enabled the New Dashboard Experience Labs feature, you can use dashboards (beta). You can also switch back and forth between dashboards (beta) and Looker’s original dashboards.
For a complete list of dashboards (beta) documentation, see the Dashboards (Beta) documentation page.
Entering Edit Mode in Dashboards (Beta)
If you have the Manage Access, Edit access level for a dashboard, you can edit it. To edit an existing dashboard (beta), select Edit dashboard from the dashboard menu:
From there you enter edit mode, where you can add or edit tiles or filters, and edit the dashboard title.
You can tell you’re in edit mode in a dashboard (beta) by the purple toolbar at the top of the dashboard. You exit edit mode by clicking the Save button in the toolbar.
Rearranging and Resizing Tiles
When in edit mode, you can move and resize tiles on a dashboard (beta) by clicking and dragging. Click and drag on the six-dot icon in the upper left of a tile to move it. Click and drag on the bottom right corner of the tile to resize it.
Tile Size and Grid Layout
When you add a visualization using grid layout to a dashboard (beta), the grid arrangement can become responsive to the size of the dashboard tile.
For example, say you have a dashboard tile with a visualization that uses a grid layout of four small charts. If you size the tile to be short and wide, the small charts appear as one row of four. If you size the tile as a square, the small charts are repositioned to two rows of two. Or, if you size the tile to be narrow but tall, the charts are repositioned to four rows of one.
To ensure that the grid arrangement is responsive, do not enter a number into the visualization's Number of Charts per Row setting. If you enter a value into Number of Charts per Row, the dashboard tile will respect that setting regardless of the size or shape of the dashboard tile.
When a dashboard (beta) is in edit mode, the three-dot menu at the top right of each tile shows edit options. These options differ slightly whether you are viewing a query tile or a Look-linked tile:
Editing a Query Tile Title
Once your dashboard is in edit mode, you can edit a query tile’s title simply by clicking on the tile and making your edits. Click Save at the upper right of the dashboard to save your changes.
You can also edit tile titles for both query tiles and Look-linked tiles when editing a tile’s underlying query or Look.
Editing a Tile’s Query or Look
If you save edits to a Look, it will affect every dashboard (beta or original) where that Look is used.
When a dashboard (beta) is in edit mode, you can edit a tile’s underlying query or Look — including the title of the tile and the visualization — directly in the dashboard. First, click Edit in the tile’s three-dot menu.
Looker then displays an edit window for that query or Look, letting you change and save it:
If you are editing a Look, the edit pane displays the dashboards that contain tiles linked to that Look. Those dashboards will be affected by your changes. If you are editing a query tile, you will not see a list of dashboards affected in the edit pane, because your edits only affect the tile and dashboard you are in.
Hiding or Showing a Tile Title
When a dashboard (beta) is in edit mode, you can hide or show the title of a tile. By default, tile titles are shown. You can hide a title by clicking Hide title in the tile’s three-dot menu.
Once the title is hidden, the tile’s three-dot menu displays an option to show the title of the tile.
The hide/show option does not appear in the three-dot menu of text tiles or tiles that use single value visualizations. To hide or show the title of a single value visualization, click Edit in the tile’s three-dot menu, toggle the Show Title switch in the style menu, and save. To hide or show a title of a text tile, click Edit in the tile’s three-dot menu, remove or reinstate the tile title, and save.
Adding a Tile Note
To add a note to a tile, make sure the dashboard is in edit mode and then click the Add note button in the tile’s three-dot menu:
Looker shows the following window, letting you enter the note text and select a couple of display options:
- Enter the note text you want to show on the tile.
- Select the location of the note. The options are above the visualization, below the visualization, or as hover text that appears when users hover over a circled i icon to the right of the tile title.
- Check this box to collapse the note by default. A collapsed note shows only the first line, with an ellipsis at the end of the line. Unchecking this box displays the note’s full text by default. If you select On icon hover under Display Location, you will not see this option.
- Add the note to the tile or cancel it.
The note appears on the tile with a collapse/expand arrow to the left of the note. Clicking that arrow or anywhere on the note toggles between collapsed and expanded displays.
Once you add a note to a tile, the tile’s three-dot tile menu changes to display Edit note instead of Add note. Click Edit note to reveal a pop-up window similar to the above that will allow you to edit or delete your note.
Duplicating a Query Tile
When the dashboard is in edit mode, you can duplicate query tiles by clicking Duplicate tile from the tile’s menu:
Looker creates a copy of the tile with the same query and visualization settings and adds the new tile to the bottom of the dashboard. From there, you can move or resize the tile, edit the tile title or edit the new tile to adjust the visualization or the underlying query.
You cannot duplicate a Look-linked tile and will not see Duplicate tile in the three-dot menu of Look-linked tiles.
Deleting a Tile
When a dashboard is in edit mode, you can delete a tile from a dashboard (beta) by selecting Delete (for a query tile) or Remove Look (for a Look-linked tile) from the tile’s three-dot menu. This deletion cannot be undone.
Deleting a Look-linked tile from a dashboard does not affect the underlying Look.
Deleting Dashboards (Beta)
You can delete a dashboard (beta) in one of two ways:
- You can delete one or more dashboards (beta) at a time from folders, as described on the Organizing and Managing Access to Content documentation page.
- You can delete a single dashboard (beta) by switching the dashboard to an original dashboard and then selecting Move to Trash from the dashboard’s gear menu.