User Guide Getting Started Help Center Documentation Community Training
Looker
  
English
Français
Deutsch
日本語
Users

The Users page lists all of the user accounts on your Looker instance:

Viewing and Searching Users

The users are listed in a table that shows the following basic information:

Column Definition
ID A user ID assigned by Looker at the time of user creation
Name The user’s actual name, which they enter when they initially sign up
Credentials The user’s username, which is an email address
Groups A list of groups the user belongs to
Roles A list of roles assigned to the user
Actions Actions you can take for a user

You can sort the table by either the ID or Name column by clicking on the column’s header.

You can also search the Name and Credentials columns by entering a search term into the search box in the upper right and pressing [Enter].

Adding Users

To add a user, simply click the Add Users button in the upper left of the page. In the resulting dialog box, you can type or paste a comma-separated list of email addresses and select the roles and groups that will be assigned to each. Click the Add Users button when you’re done to create the users and send sign-up emails if you’ve selected the Send setup emails checkbox.

Editing Users

To edit a user, click the Edit button on the right-hand side of their row. There you’ll be able to adjust many settings:

Account

Enable or disable a user’s account. You may want to consider disabling user accounts instead of totally deleting them.

First Name

Add or edit the user’s first name, if applicable. You aren’t required to add a value here, but it is useful for organizational purposes.

Last Name

Add or edit the user’s last name, if applicable. You aren’t required to add a value here, but it is useful for organizational purposes.

Email

Add or edit the user’s email address. When the user logs into Looker, this will serve as their username.

Locale (beta)

If you are localizing your model, use the Locale field to specify the name of the strings file that should be used to display the labels and descriptions to the user in the Looker UI. The strings file names typically correspond to a language, but that is not required. See this documentation page for information on setting up your model for localization.

If you would like to use Looker’s localized UI for dashboards and visualizations, the following locales are currently supported. Use these codes as the titles of your strings files (if you are also localizing your model) and in users’ Locale fields:

Language Locale Code and Strings File Name
French fr_FR
German de_DE
Japanese ja_JP
Spanish es_ES
Italian it_IT
Korean ko_KR
Dutch nl_NL
Portuguese pt_PT
Brazilian Portuguese pt_BR
Russian ru_RU
English en

For users with no Locale setting, Looker uses en as the default locale.

For more on localizing Looker, see the Localizing Looker documentation page.

Timezone

If you’ve enabled user specific time zones on your Looker instance, you can select the time zone that will be used when this user runs a query in Looker.

Password

If you need to reset a password, you can send a reset link to the email address specified above by clicking the Send reset link button. The reset URL that is sent to the user will be displayed. See the Password Requirements documentation page to learn about specifying password complexity requirements in Looker.

API3 Keys

An API3 key is used to access the Looker API. API3 keys are created by Looker and consist of a Client ID and a Client Secret. Looker requires an API3 key for the following:

To generate API keys, click the Edit Keys button from the Edit Users page. This will open the Edit User API3 keys page, where you can see the existing API3 keys or click the New API3 key button to generate a new key.

The API3 keys have the same permissions as the user account from which they were created.

The best practice is to create dedicated user accounts for API scripts — one user account for each script. That way, you can configure a user account with the specific set of permissions that allow the script to perform its function, and only its function. For example, for an API script that runs queries, you can create a user account with the access_data permission, but no other permissions.

This technique lets you increase security by compartmentalizing a script’s access. Also, if you ever need to stop a script, you can simply disable (or delete) that script’s user account. Be sure to read Removing User Access before deleting any user account.

Individual Roles

You can select the roles this user should have, if you want to assign roles individually. See the Roles page for more information on configuring roles, or the Permissions Management page for a broader discussion of Looker permissions.

We generally suggest assigning roles to groups instead of assigning roles directly to individual users.

Roles from Groups

If the user is assigned to any groups, they may have inherited some roles from those groups. These roles are listed here.

Groups

Select the groups this user should belong to. Users can also be added to groups on the groups page.

User Attributes

Set and unset the values of a user’s user attributes. Values assigned to an individual user always override any values assigned as a result of membership in a group. System settings are not editable.

Removing User Access

If you want to remove a user’s access to Looker you can either disable their account or delete their account. For most situations, the best practice is to disable the account.

Differences between disabling and deleting a user account are described in the following table:

Description Disabled Deleted
The user can log in to the Looker instance No No
The user’s personal space Still exists Deleted
Looks and dashboards in the user’s personal space Still exist Moved to the Trash space
Looks and dashboards the user saved to a Shared space Still exist in the Shared space Still exist in the Shared space
Schedules created by the user Schedules are stopped Schedules are deleted
Schedules based on the user’s content, but created by another user Schedules continue to run Schedules are deleted
Historical usage information for the user Kept Most deleted

Disabling Users

If you need to stop user access to Looker, the best practice is typically to disable the user account. When you disable a user account, the user’s usage history and personal content is kept. For details about the differences between disabling and deleting users, see the table in the Removing User Access section.

To disable a user account, click the Disable button on the right-hand side of their row. A dialog box will ask you to confirm that you want to disable the user’s account.

Deleting Users

Deleting a user is irreversible. Consider your organization’s compliance and security needs before doing so.

Instead of deleting, a great alternative is to disable the user account instead. This prevents a user from being able to log in, but their information, content, and history remain intact. For details about the differences between disabling and deleting users, see the table in the Removing User Access section.

To delete a user:

  1. Click the Edit button on the right-hand side of their row.

  2. At the bottom of the Edit User page, click Delete.

  3. A dialog box will ask you to confirm that you want to delete the user’s account. Click OK to delete the user.

Impersonating (Sudoing) Users

“Sudo” is a Unix term that means to emulate the permissions of another user. Sudoing allows you to navigate Looker as if you are another user, with their privileges and abilities.

Only admins and users who have both the see_users and sudo permissions have the ability to sudo as other users. Admins can sudo as any other user, including other admins. Users with the see_users and sudo permissions can sudo as other non-admin users.

To sudo as another user, click the user’s Sudo button from the Users Admin page:

This is a good way to validate that you’ve properly configured permissions and other features. Sudoing is also a useful way to see a user’s LookML development before they’ve committed and pushed their changes.

When you sudo you’ll see a bar at the top of the screen that warns you that you’re in a sudoed state, and that enables you to exit the sudoed state. Any changes you make while in this state will impact the user you’re emulating.

Keep in mind that if you are in Development Mode, your changes are not visible to other users until you deploy your changes to production. If you haven’t deployed your changes for other users to see, you will not see your changes when you sudo as a different user.

Top