home User Guide Getting Started Help Center Documentation Community Training Certification
menu
close
settings
Looker keyboard_arrow_down
language keyboard_arrow_down
English
Français
Deutsch
日本語
search
print
Groups

The Groups page in the Users section of the Admin menu lists all the user groups on your Looker instance. Placing users into groups is helpful for managing folder access and other permissions.

Consider creating groups related to the type of content they handle. Users can filter the Top Content by group so good group design can help them find the content they need.

When the New Groups Page Labs feature is enabled, the Groups page shows a redesigned table and pagination to increase performance on instances with a large number of groups.

New Groups Page

Enable the New Groups Page Labs feature to view the redesigned Groups page.

Viewing and searching groups

The Groups page shows the following information:

  1. You can use the Filter List field to limit which groups are displayed. When you click the Filter List field, you are given the choice to filter on ID or group name. When you filter on ID, entering a group ID will display that group. In the case of group name, when you enter any string, the list of groups displayed will show all the groups whose name contains the string you entered in the filter field. The Filter List replaces the search function on the previous version of the Groups page.
  2. You can sort the table by group name in either ascending or descending order by clicking the Group column heading.
  3. Each row lists the group name and the group ID assigned to the group. Click on the row to edit the group to add or remove users. Groups that cannot be edited, either because they are system-created groups (such as the All Users group), or because they are externally managed by LDAP, SAML, or OpenID Connect protocols, are indicated by a lock on the group icon.
  4. The Role column lists any roles assigned to the group.
  5. The Users column shows how many members, either users or other groups, belong to the group.
  6. You can click Add Group to add a new group. Looker will display a dialog where you can type the name of the new group. After you click the Create button, Looker adds the group to the Groups page. You can then edit the group to add or remove users.
  7. You can hover over a group to display the three-dot menu at the right. You can use the three-dot menu to delete the group. If you choose to delete a group, Looker will ask you to confirm.

    Deleting a group is irreversible! Deleting a group while it is still in use can impact a wide variety of user permissions, which can prevent users from accessing the folders or features they are used to.

Editing groups

To edit a group, in the Groups page, click the row the group is in. There you’ll be able to view and adjust several settings:

  1. You can use the Filter List field to limit which groups members are displayed. When you click the Filter List field, you are given the choice to filter on member ID or member name. When you filter on member ID, entering a member ID will display that group member. In the case of member name, when you enter any string, the list of group members displayed will show all the group members whose name contains the string you entered in the filter field.
  2. Each row shows a member of the group with an icon indicating whether the member is an individual user or another group. The row lists the user or group ID and, in the case of a user, the user’s primary login credential.
  3. If the group member is a user, the Active Credential column shows the type of credentials the user can use to log in to Looker. If the group member is another group, the Active Credential column shows how many users are in the member group.
  4. You can hover over a row to display the three-dot menu for that group member at the right. You can use the three-dot menu to remove that member from the group. If you choose to remove the member, Looker will ask you to confirm.
  5. You can click Add Members to add a user or another group as a member of the group. Looker will display a dialog where you can search for a username or group name and add the user or group as a member.
  6. You can click the group’s three-dot menu to rename the group or delete the group. If you choose to delete the group, Looker will ask you to confirm.

    Deleting a group is irreversible! Deleting a group while it is still in use can impact a wide variety of user permissions, which can prevent users from accessing the folders or features they are used to.

Adding roles to groups

To assign a role to a group, use the Roles page in the Users section of the Admin menu. From there, you can edit the role and assign a group or groups to that role. For more information, see the Roles documentation page.

Groups page

If the New Groups Page Labs feature is not enabled, Looker displays the prior version of the Groups page.

Viewing and searching groups

The table of groups that appears on the page shows basic information about each group:

Column Definition
ID A group ID assigned by Looker at the time of group creation
Name The name of the group that was entered when the group was created
Roles A list of roles assigned to the group
Members The number of users that are a part of the group
Actions Actions you can take for a group

You can sort the table by either the ID or Name column by clicking on those column’s headers.

Adding groups

To add a group, click the Add Group button in the upper left of the page.

Looker will display a dialog where you can type the name of the new group. After you click the Create button, Looker adds the group to the Groups page. You can then edit the group to add users or roles.

Editing groups

To edit a group, click the Edit button on the right side of its row. There you’ll be able to adjust several settings:

Roles

The Roles section lists all the roles that have been added to the group you’re viewing.

To remove or edit a role, click the Edit link next to the role you want to add to the group. This will bring you to Roles page for that role, where you can edit the role permission sets, model sets, and assign or remove the role from groups and users.

To add a new role to a group, click the Roles link in the left panel of the Admin page to go to the Roles page. From there, click the Edit link next to the role you want to add. This will bring you to the page for that role, where you will see a list of all groups. To add a role to an additional group, click the checkbox next to that group.

If the group you’re editing was automatically created as part of an LDAP integration, you will not be able to add roles here. This helps to ensure that your LDAP groups continue to be your single source of truth. Instead, use the instructions provided on the LDAP page.

Members

The members of the group are listed in the Add Accounts section. Members can be individual users or other groups. If enough members are part of the group the Next and Prev buttons will let you view additional pages of members. Otherwise, these buttons are grayed out.

Above the list of members is a search box you may use to filter the list of members. Looker will display any group member whose name or email address contains your search.

Add

To add a member type their name into the search box and select their name from the search results. You can repeat this as many times as necessary. When you’re done click the Add button to add the members to the group. It is also possible to add users to a group from the Users page.

Remove

To remove a member, click the checkbox next to their name, then click the Remove button.

Done

When you’ve finished editing a group, click the Done button in the upper left of the page.

Deleting groups

To delete a group, click the Delete button on the right side of its row. Looker displays a confirmation dialog before you delete the group.

Deleting a group is irreversible! Deleting a group while it is still in use can impact a wide variety of user permissions, which can prevent users from accessing the folders or features they are used to.

Top