User Guide Getting Started Help Center Documentation Community Training
Looker
Settings

The Settings page lets you configure the instance-wide settings for Looker.

License Key

The license key is unique to the Looker instance you’re using. It enables or disables certain Looker features based on your licensing agreement.

The license key is hidden by default. Click Show to display the license key.

Host URL

The Host URL is the base portion of your Looker instance’s URL. It is used specifically when links to your instance are created in scheduled emails.

Make sure the Host URL uses http:// or https:// appropriately, based on your instance’s server configuration.

Application Time Zone

When displaying data in an Explore, Look, or dashboard, Looker can convert time data from the connection’s Database Time Zone to the appropriate time zone for that user.

If the User Specific Time Zones option is enabled, then an admin can set the user’s default time zone or users can set their own default time zone. If the admin or user has not set the user’s default time zone, then the Application Time Zone is used for that user, and all time-based data queried by that user will be converted to the Application Time Zone.

The Application Time Zone setting is also used as the default time zone for scheduling data deliveries. The time zone used for schedules does not affect time data returned by a query, it only affects the time the data will be sent.

See the Using Time Zone Settings documentation page for more information.

User Specific Time Zones

When adding a connection, you specify what time zone your database stores time information as the Database Time Zone.

When User Specific Time Zones is enabled, each user is assigned a time zone, and Looker converts time-based data from the Database Time Zone to a user’s time zone when viewing query results or interpreting filters.

When User Specific Time Zones is disabled, Looker converts time-based data for all users to the Query Time Zone value.

See the Using Time Zone Settings documentation page for more information.

Load Assets from CDN

The Load Assets from CDN setting can either be enabled or disabled. When enabled, Looker pages should load faster for Looker users.

CDN is an acronym for “content delivery network”. A CDN is a network of servers which store content in multiple geographic locations in order to reduce page load time for end users. Your data is never stored on these servers; only items specific to Looker (such as images) are stored here.

Default Visualization Colors

The Default Visualization Colors setting lets you define a default set of colors for charts, graphs, and table visualizations.

The color values can be formatted as hex strings, such as #2ca6cd, or as CSS named color strings, such as mediumblue. Simply separate the colors with a comma. Or, if you prefer to choose the color from a color picker, click on the + sign next to the boxes of colors.

Users can override these colors if they like when they create visualizations.

Default Export Format

The Default Export Format setting lets you choose the default file format that is used when users choose to download data. Users can still choose a different file format if they like.

Format File Extension Description
TXT .txt A text file delimited by tabs
Excel Spreadsheet .xlsx The format for Microsoft Excel 2007 and later
CSV .csv A text file delimited by commas
JSON .json Will generate a JSON file with 1 record per line
HTML .html Will use basic HTML to display the data in a similar way that users see it in their browser. However, Looker’s CSS will not be included, so the formatting is not exactly the same.
Markdown .md Will generate a standard markdown file with a | delimited table

Public URLs

The Public URL setting can be enabled or disabled. When enabled, Looker users with appropriate permissions can generate public URLs to access Looker data.

Although public URLs are not guessable, anyone who has one can access your data without security restraints. Please use with caution.

Closed System

This option must be enabled by Looker; contact Looker Support to get started.

The Closed System setting is used in conjunction with groups to prevent users in one group from knowing about the users in another group. This is often useful for multi-tenant installations.

The places in Looker where users might see other users include:

When the Closed System setting is enabled, non-admin users who do not have the see_users permission will only be able to see other users with whom they share a group. They will also only be able to see groups of which they are members.

All admins and any users who have been granted the see_users permission can see all users and groups on the instance.

Admins can override the Closed System setting by allowing a user to see the personal space of another user with whom they do not share a group, so please use caution when editing space visibility.

Email Domain Whitelist for Scheduled Looks

This setting lets you define the email domains (such as looker.com) to which your users can schedule Looker emails.

For example, if you add the domain looker.com to the email domain whitelist, scheduled emails will only be able to be sent to users that have an looker.com address. Users from other domains (e.g. gmail.com, etc) will not be able to receive emails.

If this field is left blank, there is no email domain restriction. You should also note that there is a schedule_external_look_emails permission that lets users send emails to anyone, regardless of this whitelist setting. Of course there is no need to use this permission if no one should have that ability.

New Account Notification

The New Account Notification setting can be enabled or disabled. When enabled, any Looker admin user will be emailed when a new Looker account is created. The email will contain the new user’s email address.

URL Whitelist for Data Actions

This setting lets you define URLs (such as https://looker.com) where your users can process data actions.

For example, if you add the URL https://looker.com to the URL whitelist for data actions, data actions will only be able to be processed at https://looker.com. Attempts to process data actions at other URLs will not be allowed.

If this field is left blank, there are no URL restrictions for data actions. However, if you have included a user attribute in a data action, this field is required. In that case, you must provide valid URLs to process data actions.

Technical Contacts

Email addresses added to this box will receive notifications of security updates, major bug fixes, and new Looker releases.

Our support team requires permission from a Technical Contact to do any of the following:

Outgoing Webhook Token

If a user schedules a Look to make a webhook request, the request will include a special Looker token that can be set here. This token can then be used to verify the legitimacy of webhook requests.

In-app Guides

In-app guides let Looker communicate with users in the application via tutorials, banners, alerts, and surveys. These communications are used to help users get more out of the platform, alert them to new features, get feedback on the platform, and invite users to trainings and events where they can learn how to better use Looker.

Administrators can choose to disable guides for their instance, which will disable the guides for all users on the instance. There is no way to selectively turn off in-app guides for certain users. Looker will not show in-app guides to embedded users or users on whitelabeled instances.

Guides are designed and deployed by Looker’s Customer Experience team and will change over time. Looker serves the third-party software (Pendo) Javascript. The individual guides are vetted and whitelisted by Looker. When fetching a guide from Pendo, Looker validates that the guide is unchanged using sha256 integrity hashes. If there are any changes to the guide after Looker’s review, Looker prevents use of the changed guide. If a user’s browser cannot reach the Pendo server, then the guide is simply not displayed.

Cookie Notification Banner

When enabled, this setting will show a cookie notification banner to all users on your instance. By default this setting is disabled.

We recommend enabling this setting if you need to comply with the European Union’s data protection regulations.

Top