On this Page
Docs Menu

Log Panel

The Log Panel shows the 500 most recent system log messages generated by your Looker instance.

  1. To limit the information shown in the Log window, you can enter text in the Filter field, and the Log window will show only those messages that include the text you entered.
  2. Click Refresh Log to update the log and show the most recent 500 messages.
  3. You can adjust the severity level of log messages that will be shown for various Looker services. This is explained in more detail below.

The Log file is not the best way to look at usage or user history. Instead, check out our Creating Looker Usage and Metadata Reports page.

Log Levels

The Log Levels section lets you set the minimum severity level required for a message to show up in the log, for several different Looker services. This allows you to hide log information that does not interest you.

Severity Descriptions

Log message severity levels are listed below, from least severe to most severe:

  • debug: Debug log entries are detailed information messages that show Looker’s internal application processes. This severity level is typically used only for debugging internal code.

  • verbose: These are detailed informational messages that show events occurring in Looker at a more finely-grained level. This severity level is typically used only for troubleshooting.

  • info: These are standard informational messages that show regular events occurring in Looker.

  • warn: These messages indicate potentially harmful situations.

  • error: These messages indicate error events that are probably not serious enough to cause Looker to stop running.

  • fatal: These messages indicate very severe error events that will likely cause Looker to stop running.

Service Descriptions

The Master Level drop-down sets the minimum severity level for all the Looker services. You can also set severity levels individually for each Looker service, but you won’t see messages that have a lower severity than the Master Level setting.

For example, if you have set the Master Level to warn, and set the db service to info, you will only see messages with a severity of warn or higher, since that is the setting of Master Level. But, if Master Level is set to warn and you set the db service to error, you will only see messages sent by the db service that have a severity of error or higher.

You can set the log level of messages generated by the following services:

  • db: Messages generated by queries to the analytics database.

  • db:looker: Messages generated by queries to the Looker back-end database.

  • http: Messages generated from http requests that the front end web server is receiving/processing.

  • http_core: Messages generated from http requests to the core web server that serves the internals of the application.

  • logger: Messages generated when you make changes to the log level.

  • org.apache.active: Messages generated by ActiveMQ. ActiveMQ is a messaging service that Looker uses to communicate tasks between subsystems. It is used by the scheduler, PDT regeneration, and other long running tasks.

  • pdt: Messages associated with the Persistent Derived Table process.

  • raven: Messages generated by the error reporting service.

  • render: Messages generated by the renderer, which renders PDFs and PNGs.

  • scheduler: Messages generated by the scheduler process.

After you have modified the log level for a service, click Set Levels to save your changes.

Still have questions?
Go to Discourse - or - Email Support